
Top-sites.us/top--sites.net/top--sites.com/www--directory.net
- could you please be so kind as to check this scam - its good...
We keep receiving spam emails from John
Kennedy or PO Box 7334-101591, San Francisco, CA 94120-7334 USA,
or others that say:
Could you please be so kind as to check
your your-domain.com listing, if you don't mind, at:
http://top--sites.net/update.htm?d=your-domain.com&v=6552&e=i
or: TopSites is the world's biggest
directory.
TopSites has more than 12 million listings, in more than 450,000
categories, on more than a million pages.
TopSites has regional editions in more than 230 countries,
in more than 70 languages.
or: We can only list you if you click
the update button by Wednesday (even if your listing is fine).
Your updated listing will also appear to the left of Yahoo,
MSN, Google, Go, AOL, Netscape, Lycos, AltaVista, and Excite searches
by AutoSearch users in Internet Explorer's Search window.
Thanks, John Kennedy (or Bob, or others)
P.S. Please also review our translations of your website into
seven languages. And don't miss our reports on your website's popularity
and your server's uptime.
or: P.S while you are visting TopSites, please don't miss:
* Our translation of your website into seven languages.
* Your website popularity report.
* Your web server uptime graph.
This is a classic directory scam where many
people suddenly discover that they have to pay $60 a year (for
each category they are listed in). The alarm bells should
start ringing when you find you are asked to enter your credit card
details on an insecure page. Never do that. The
actual email infers you are already listed and that you need to
check your listing. We recommend you steer clear. You can find comprehensive
details of this operation by clicking here
(External link, new window). If you want translations of your web
site, use Babelfish from Altavista - and it's free. And if you want
a global directory listing, use dmoz.org
(also free). Top--sites.net has been taken down but www.top--sites.com
has sprung up (proving there are still hosting companies without
scruples)...
Virus News
'Microsoft' MS Blaster Emails
Barclays Scam
PayPal/Ebay Scam Emails
|